India’s T20I Squad for Zimbabwe Tour: New Faces Get Maiden Call-Ups

India's T20I squad for Zimbabwe

Shubman Gill has been appointed captain of India’s T20I squad for the upcoming five-match series in Zimbabwe, starting July 6. Abhishek Sharma, Nitish Kumar Reddy, Riyan Parag, and Tushar Deshpande have all earned their first call-ups to the national team following their standout performances in IPL 2024.

Dhruv Jurel has also been included as the second wicketkeeper, marking his first selection for the T20I squad after his Test debut against England earlier this year.

Yashasvi Jaiswal and Sanju Samson are the only players from India’s T20 World Cup squad traveling to Zimbabwe, as the rest have been rested after the tournament concluding on June 29.

Reserves from the World Cup squad—Rinku Singh, Avesh Khan, and Khaleel Ahmed—are also set to tour Zimbabwe. The team is scheduled to depart on July 1 and will be coached by VVS Laxman, following the end of Rahul Dravid’s tenure with the T20 World Cup.

ALSO READ:Scottie Scheffler’s Earnings on the PGA Tour Reach New Heights in 2024

Notably absent is Tilak Varma, sidelined due to a finger injury. Varma, who has played 16 T20Is since his debut last year, is currently undergoing rehab at the NCA in Bangalore.

Abhishek Sharma’s selection follows his stellar IPL season with Sunrisers Hyderabad, scoring 484 runs at a strike rate of 204.21, including a record 42 sixes. Sharma also played a crucial role in Punjab’s Syed Mushtaq Ali title win.

Riyan Parag had a breakout season for Rajasthan Royals, scoring 573 runs, making him the third-highest run-scorer in IPL 2024. Nitish Kumar Reddy, a 21-year-old seam-bowling allrounder, impressed with his all-round performance for Sunrisers, scoring 303 runs and taking three wickets. Tushar Deshpande led Chennai Super Kings’ bowling attack with 17 wickets.

The five T20Is will be played in Harare on July 6, 7, 10, 13, and 14.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top