thesportingden.com

Rohit Sharma Dismisses Inzamam’s Reverse Swing Allegations

Rohit Sharma reverse swing

Indian cricket captain Rohit Sharma has firmly dismissed former Pakistan captain Inzamam-ul-Haq’s allegations of ball tampering related to India’s reverse swing capabilities during their Super 8 match against Australia in the T20 World Cup 2024.

Ahead of the semi-final against England, Rohit emphasized the importance of understanding playing conditions before making accusations.

“What answer will I give? If you are playing under the sun and the wickets are this dry, the ball will reverse on its own. The ball is reversing for all teams, not just for us. Sometimes, it’s important to open your mind. You have to understand where we are playing. We are not playing in England or Australia,” said Rohit Sharma.

Inzamam had claimed that Arshdeep Singh’s ability to reverse the ball in the 15th over was unusual.

ALSO READ:Afghanistan’s Heartbreaking Exit After Best-Ever World Cup Finish

“Arshdeep Singh, when he was bowling the 15th over, the ball was reversing. Is it too early [for reverse swing] with the new ball? This means the ball was ready for reverse swing by the 12th or the 13th over. Umpires should keep their eyes open [to spot] these things,” Inzamam stated on a local news channel.

India’s victory over Australia secured their spot in the semi-finals, where they will face England in Guyana today.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top