Gill to Captain India in T20 Series Against Zimbabwe

Shubman Gill to lead India T20

NEW DELHI: Shubman Gill has been appointed as the captain of a second-string Indian team for their T20 tour of Zimbabwe in July. The squad, announced on Monday, will play five matches starting from July 6 in Harare.

With India’s top players rested following the T20 World Cup, the 15-member squad includes only Yashasvi Jaiswal and Sanju Samson from the current World Cup team. Gill, along with Rinku Singh, Avesh Khan, and Khaleel Ahmed, were part of India’s reserves in the World Cup ending June 29.

IPL stars like Abhishek Sharma, Nitish Reddy, Riyan Parag, and Tushar Deshpande have been rewarded with their first call-ups to the national team after stellar performances in the tournament.

ALSO READ:Afghanistan Eye Historic Semi-Final Spot Against Struggling Bangladesh

The fixtures are scheduled for July 6, 7, 10, 13, and 14 in Harare.

India squad: Shubman Gill (capt), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Abhishek Sharma, Rinku Singh, Sanju Samson (wk), Dhruv Jurel (wk), Nitish Reddy, Riyan Parag, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Khaleel Ahmed, Mukesh Kumar, Tushar Deshpande.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top