Tour de France Past Winners: A Legacy of Triumph


The Tour de France, the pinnacle of professional cycling, has a storied history that spans over a century. This prestigious race has seen some of the greatest athletes in the sport, each leaving an indelible mark on its legacy. In this article, we delve into the history of Tour de France past winners, exploring their remarkable achievements, notable trends, and the evolving nature of this iconic event.

Recent Tour de France Winners

In recent years, the Tour de France has witnessed intense competition and dramatic victories. Here’s a closer look at the winners from the past few editions:

Year1st PlaceTeam2nd PlaceTeam3rd PlaceTeam
2023Jonas Vingegaard (Denmark)Jumbo-VismaTadej Pogacar (Slovenia)UAE Team EmiratesSimon Yates (GBr)UAE Team Emirates
2022Jonas Vingegaard (Denmark)Jumbo-VismaTadej Pogacar (Slovenia)UAE Team EmiratesGeraint Thomas (GBr)Ineos Grenadiers
2021Tadej Pogacar (Slovenia)UAE Team EmiratesJonas Vingegaard (Denmark)Jumbo-VismaRichard Carapaz (Ecu)Ineos Grenadiers
2020Tadej Pogacar (Slovenia)UAE Team EmiratesPrimoz Roglic (Slovenia)Team Jumbo-VismaRichie Porte (Aus)Trek-Segafredo
2019Egan Bernal (Colombia)Team IneosGeraint Thomas (GBr)Team IneosSteven Kruijswijk (Ned)Team Jumbo-Visma
2018Geraint Thomas (GBr)Team SkyTom Dumoulin (Ned)Team SunwebChris Froome (GBr)Team Sky
2017Christopher Froome (GBr)Team SkyRigoberto Uran (Colombia)Cannondale-DrapacRomain Bardet (Fra)AG2R-La Mondiale
2016Christopher Froome (GBr)Team SkyRomain Bardet (Fra)AG2R-La MondialeNairo Quintana (Col)Movistar Team
2015Christopher Froome (GBr)Team SkyNairo Quintana (Col)Movistar TeamAlejandro Valverde (Spa)Movistar Team

Notable Tour de France Winners | Tour de France Past Winners

Most Tour de France Wins

The record for the most Tour de France past winners titles is shared by four legendary cyclists, each having won the race five times:

Jacques Anquetil51957, 1961-1964
Eddy Merckx51969-1972, 1974
Bernard Hinault51978, 1979, 1981, 1982, 1985
Miguel Indurain51991-1995

Jacques Anquetil was the first to achieve this milestone, followed by Eddy Merckx, Bernard Hinault, and Miguel Indurain. Indurain is notable for being the only rider to win five consecutive titles.


The Rise and Fall of Lance Armstrong

Lance Armstrong once held the record with seven consecutive Tour de France titles from 1999 to 2005. However, in 2012, a doping scandal led to the stripping of his victories. It marked a dramatic fall from grace that reverberated throughout the cycling world. Armstrong’s downfall underscored the persistent challenge of performance-enhancing drugs in professional cycling, prompting intensified efforts to uphold fairness and integrity in the sport.


Trends in Tour de France Winners

Youngest Tour de France Winners | Tour de France past winners

The trend in recent years has been the emergence of younger champions, showcasing the new generation of cycling talent. Some of the youngest Tour de France winners include:

1904Henri Cornet19 years, 352 days
2020Tadej Pogacar21 years, 365 days
1909François Faber22 years, 187 days
2019Egan Bernal22 years, 196 days
1910Octave Lapize22 years, 280 days

Henri Cornet remains the youngest winner in Tour de France history, having claimed the title in 1904 at just 19 years old. Tadej Pogacar and Egan Bernal are recent young champions who have demonstrated exceptional talent early in their careers.


Oldest Tour de France Winners

In contrast, some of the oldest winners in the race’s history achieved their victories later in their careers, showcasing endurance and experience:

1922Firmin Lambot36 years, 130 days
1923Henri Pélissier34 years, 180 days
2011Cadel Evans34 years, 160 days
1948Gino Bartali34 years, 8 days
1910Lucien Buysse33 years, 309 days

Firmin Lambot holds the record as the oldest winner, having won in 1922 at 36 years old. In the modern era, Cadel Evans stands out for his victory at the age of 34 in 2011.


The Evolution of the Tour de France

From Humble Beginnings to Global Phenomenon

The Tour de France began in 1903 as a promotional event for the French newspaper L’Auto. Over the years, it has evolved into one of the most grueling and prestigious sporting events in the world. Each year, the race covers approximately 3,500 kilometers, traversing diverse terrains and challenging cyclists to their limits.

Impact of Doping Scandals

The integrity of the Tour de France has been challenged by doping scandals. High-profile cases, such as those involving Lance Armstrong and Alberto Contador, have marred the race’s reputation. These incidents have led to stricter regulations and testing to ensure a fair and clean competition.

Technological Advances

Advancements in technology have significantly impacted the race. From lightweight bicycles and aerodynamic gear to sophisticated training programs and nutrition plans, modern cyclists are equipped with tools and knowledge that were unimaginable in the early days of the Tour. These innovations have contributed to faster race times and more strategic racing.

Memorable Moments in Tour de France History | Tour de France past winners

The Legendary Climbs

The Tour de France is renowned for its challenging mountain stages, particularly in the Alps and the Pyrenees. Iconic climbs like Alpe d’Huez, Mont Ventoux, and Col du Tourmalet have become synonymous with the race. These stages often determine the overall winner, as they test the climbers’ endurance and strategy.

Dramatic Finishes

Over the years, the Tour de France has seen numerous dramatic finishes that have captivated audiences. One such moment was in 1989 when Greg LeMond won by just eight seconds, the closest margin in the race’s history. In 2019, Egan Bernal triumphed after a sudden change in weather conditions led to the cancellation of the final mountain stage, adding an unexpected twist to the race.

Read More:


Has anyone won the Tour de France on last stage?

In 1989, Greg LeMond overcame a 50-second deficit to defeat Laurent Fignon by 58 seconds during a 24 km time trial from Versailles. This remarkable effort allowed him to secure the 1989 Tour de France victory by just eight seconds. It was the first (and only) time trial final stage held on the Champs-Élysées.

Who is favored to win the Tour de France in 2024?

Two-time Tour de France winner Tadej Pogacar continues to lead the 111th edition of the race, holding a 33-second lead over debutant Remco Evenepoel heading into Stage 10. Two-time defending champion Jonas Vingegaard is in third place, with Primoz Roglic and Juan Ayuso following closely behind.

Who has the most stage wins in Tour history?

Mark Cavendish sets a new Tour de France record with his 35th stage win, surpassing Eddy Merckx’s previous record.


The Tour de France has a rich history filled with remarkable achievements, dramatic moments, and evolving trends. The list of Tour de France past winners includes some of the greatest cyclists in history. Each of them contributing to the legacy of this iconic race. As we look forward to future editions, the Tour de France continues to be a symbol of endurance, skill, and the relentless pursuit of excellence in the world of cycling.

The 2024 Tour de France promises to add another chapter to this storied history. With new contenders aiming to etch their names alongside the legends of the past. Whether it’s young rising stars or seasoned veterans, the race will undoubtedly showcase the best of what professional cycling has to offer.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top