Which Teams have qualified for 2024 Cricket World Cup?

In a historic turn of events, Uganda has secured its place in the upcoming ICC T20 2024 Cricket World Cup, marking its debut in the prestigious tournament. The qualification came after a remarkable victory over Rwanda in the Africa qualifiers, with Uganda also triumphing over former powerhouse Zimbabwe in a significant encounter. The 20-team lineup for the tournament, set to take place in the Caribbean and the United States, is now complete, featuring a diverse range of Cricket nations.

African Qualifiers Drama

Uganda’s journey to qualification was nothing short of a fairy tale. The team’s decisive win against Rwanda, where they dismissed their opponents for a mere 65 runs and chased the target in just 8.1 overs, showcased their prowess. This victory not only secured Uganda’s spot in the T20 World Cup but also eliminated former regional powerhouse Zimbabwe from contention.

Global Representation Through Qualifiers

The global cricketing landscape is well-represented with eight teams earning their spots through regional qualifying matches. Ireland and Scotland emerged as the European representatives, while Nepal and Oman stamped their authority in the Asian qualifiers. Canada earned the North American slot, and Papua New Guinea claimed the East Asia-Pacific position. Namibia, alongside Uganda, added further diversity to the tournament by qualifying from the African region.

Joint Hosts and Direct Qualifiers

The United States, making its first-ever appearance in a major ICC event, will participate as a host nation, alongside the West Indies. Meanwhile, cricket powerhouses like Australia, England, India, Netherlands, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, and Sri Lanka secured direct qualification based on their top-eight finish in the previous T20 World Cup.

Qualification Through Rankings

Afghanistan and Bangladesh secured their places in the 2024 ICC T20 World Cup by being the two highest-ranked teams in the ICC T20 rankings at the conclusion of the previous edition of the tournament.

Tournament Structure

The 2024 T20 World Cup will unfold in two phases – a knockout round and a main round. Teams will initially compete in groups of five, with the top two from each group advancing to the Super Eights phase. In the Super Eights, the remaining teams will be split into two groups of four, culminating in the top two from each group proceeding to the semifinals.


As cricket enthusiasts gear up for the ICC T20 World Cup in 2024, the lineup promises a thrilling competition, featuring a blend of seasoned cricketing nations and exciting debutants like Uganda. The tournament’s format, spanning multiple phases, ensures an intense and closely contested battle for the coveted trophy. Cricket fans worldwide eagerly anticipate the action, set to unfold from June 4 to 30, across seven venues in the Caribbean and three in the United States. The 2024 ICC T20 World Cup is poised to be a celebration of cricket’s global spirit and the culmination of teams’ relentless efforts to secure their place on the world stage.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top