Canada Unveils Squad for Inaugural T20 World Cup Campaign

Canada T20 World Cup squad

Canada has unveiled its 15-member squad for their debut at the ICC T20 World Cup, with all-rounder Saad Bin Zafar appointed as captain.

The squad notably features a blend of experience and youthful vigor, with only three players under the age of 30: all-rounders Harsh Thaker, Nicholas Kirton, and Dilpreet Bajwa.

In a bold move, 30-year-old Kanwarpal Tathgur, despite his limited List A experience and no official T20 matches under his belt, has been included in the lineup.

Jeremy Gordon, the seasoned seamer originally from Guyana, makes a comeback to the Canadian squad after his debut in 2012. Alongside him, 39-year-old all-rounder Junaid Siddiqui returns, having last represented Canada in February 2022.

Also making a return to the squad is batter Ravinderpal Singh, who last played in 2022.

ALSO READ:British Boxer Ben Whittaker Open to Fighting in Saudi Arabia Soon

Canada’s journey in the T20 World Cup 2024 begins with a showdown against co-hosts United States of America (USA) in the tournament opener in Dallas.

The finalized squad includes:

  • Saad Bin Zafar (c)
  • Aaron Johnson
  • Dilon Heyliger
  • Dilpreet Bajwa
  • Harsh Thaker
  • Jeremy Gordon
  • Junaid Siddiqui
  • Kaleem Sana
  • Kanwarpal Tathgur (wk)
  • Navneet Dhaliwal
  • Nicholas Kirton
  • Pargat Singh
  • Ravinderpal Singh
  • Rayyankhan Pathan
  • Shreyas Movva (wk)

Additionally, the team has reserve players ready:

  • Tajinder Singh (travelling)
  • Aaditya Varadharajan
  • Ammar Khalid
  • Jatinder Matharu
  • Parveen Kumar

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top