Cristiano Ronaldo Set to Create History at Euro 2024

Cristiano Ronaldo Euro 2024

Lisbon, Portugal – Cristiano Ronaldo, the iconic Portuguese footballer, has secured his spot in the national team’s 26-player roster for the upcoming European Championships this summer, poised to etch his name in the annals of football history as the first player ever to grace six editions of the prestigious tournament.

Ronaldo, whose Euro journey commenced back in 2004, was previously tied with Iker Casillas, boasting appearances in five editions of the tournament.

Speaking on Ronaldo’s inclusion, Portugal’s head coach Roberto Martinez emphasized the star’s remarkable statistics, stating, “Cristiano? Let’s focus on the numbers. He boasts an astonishing tally of 42 goals in 41 appearances for his club.” Martinez continued, “This speaks volumes about his enduring prowess and his uncanny ability to maintain peak physical condition, coupled with the lethal finishing that we greatly admire and rely on.”

The captain of Al-Nassr, who made a high-profile move to Saudi Arabia from Manchester United midway through the 2022/23 season, has been in scintillating form, notching 42 goals and providing 13 assists across all competitions in the Saudi Pro League.

ALSO READ:KKR Ready to Shine After Break, Says Venkatesh Iyer

At 39 years old, Ronaldo famously led Portugal to their historic European triumph in 2016 and has since added to his legacy with 14 goals in the finals.

Despite being sidelined by coach Fernando Santos during Portugal’s 2022 World Cup campaign, Ronaldo remains undeterred, and his inclusion in the starting XI underscores his enduring impact on the sport.

Joining Ronaldo in the squad is his former Real Madrid comrade, Pepe, who, at the age of 41, continues to defy age and expectations.

Portugal’s Euro 2024 Squad Roster:
Goalkeepers: Diogo Costa, Rui Patricio, Jose Sa

Defenders: Joao Cancelo, Nelson Semedo, Diogo Dalot, Nuno Mendes, Ruben Dias, Antonio Silva, Goncalo Inacio, Pepe, Danilo Pereira

Midfielders: Joao Palhinha, Ruben Neves, Joao Neves, Vitinha, Otavio Monteiro, Bruno Fernandes, Bernardo Silva

Forwards: Cristiano Ronaldo, Rafael Leao, Joao Felix, Goncalo Ramos, Diogo Jota, Pedro Neto, Francisco Conceicao

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top