Pakistan Announces Squad for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024

Pakistan ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2024 Squad

Pakistan’s cricket squad for the upcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 has been officially announced by the Pakistan Cricket Board. The team, to be led by Babar Azam, comprises 15 players selected to represent the nation in the tournament slated for the USA and Caribbean from 1st to 29th June.

Here’s the squad in alphabetical order:

  • Babar Azam (Captain)
  • Abrar Ahmed
  • Azam Khan
  • Fakhar Zaman
  • Haris Rauf
  • Iftikhar Ahmed
  • Imad Wasim
  • Mohammad Abbas Afridi
  • Mohammad Amir
  • Mohammad Rizwan
  • Naseem Shah
  • Saim Ayub
  • Shadab Khan
  • Shaheen Shah Afridi
  • Usman Khan

The team management includes Wahab Riaz as the senior team manager, with Mansoor Rana as the team manager. Gary Kirsten serves as the head coach, assisted by Azhar Mahmood, Simon Helmot, David Reid, Aftab Khan, Cliffe Deacon, Irtaza Komail, Mohammad Imran, Mohammad Khurram Sarwar, Talha Ijaz, Raza Kitchlew, and Drikus Saaiman in various roles.

The selection committee, featuring Abdul Razzaq, Asad Shafiq, Babar Azam, Bilal Afzal, Gary Kirsten, Mohammad Yousuf, and Wahab Riaz, finalized the squad after a comprehensive two-hour meeting.

Noteworthy selections include Abrar Ahmed, Azam Khan, Mohammad Abbas Afridi, Saim Ayub, and Usman Khan, who are set for their debut in the T20 World Cup. Additionally, Mohammad Amir and Imad Wasim return to the tournament after their last appearances in 2016 and 2021, respectively. The rest of the squad members participated in the 2022 event held in Australia.

ALSO READ:Barcelona Parts Ways with Xavi Following Season of Turmoil

Emphasizing the team’s blend of youth and experience, the management expressed confidence in the squad’s readiness for the tournament. Haris Rauf’s fitness and form were highlighted, with optimism regarding his role alongside other key bowlers in the World Cup.

Pakistan, with a strong history in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, seeks to build on past successes. Having won the 2009 event and reached the finals twice, in addition to multiple semi-final appearances, the team aims for a strong showing in the upcoming tournament.

Pakistan’s schedule of matches in the first round includes encounters against the USA, India, Canada, and Ireland, followed by potential Super Eight matches if they progress

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top