Sunil Gavaskar Slams England Players for Skipping IPL Playoff Stages

Sunil Gavaskar IPL England players

Sunil Gavaskar has strongly criticized the decision of several England players to exit the ongoing Indian Premier League (IPL) prematurely in order to participate in the upcoming T20I series against Pakistan.

In a recent column for Mid Day, the former Indian captain expressed his disappointment, emphasizing the impact on the franchises that had counted on their presence for the entire IPL season. Gavaskar urged the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) to take action and penalize these players for their withdrawal during the crucial playoff stages of the tournament.

Gavaskar argued that while he respects players prioritizing national duty, reneging on commitments made to franchises could have financial repercussions for the teams. He suggested that the franchises should be permitted to deduct a significant portion of the player’s fee and withhold the 10 percent commission typically given to the respective cricket board.

ALSO READ:RCB Dealt Blow Ahead of Crucial Clash with CSK as Two Key Players Depart Camp

Among the England players who have left the IPL are Jonny Bairstow, Sam Curran, Liam Livingstone (Punjab Kings), Will Jacks, and Reece Topley (Royal Challengers Bengaluru), Jos Buttler (Rajasthan Royals), Phil Salt (Kolkata Knight Riders), and Moeen Ali (Chennai Super Kings).

The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) recently announced a 15-member squad for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 and the upcoming T20I series against Pakistan. They confirmed that players currently participating in the IPL will return in time for the series against Pakistan, which commences at Headingley on Wednesday, May 22, 2024.

The squad for the Pakistan series and T20 World Cup includes Jos Buttler as captain, Phil Salt, Will Jacks, Jonny Bairstow, Ben Duckett, Harry Brook, Liam Livingstone, Moeen Ali as vice-captain, Sam Curran, Chris Jordan, Tom Hartley, Adil Rashid, Jofra Archer, Mark Wood, and Reece Topley.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top