Top 10 Fastest Centuries in IPL History: An Explosive Batting


The Indian Premier League (IPL) has consistently provided cricket enthusiasts with an adrenaline-fueled spectacle, where power hitters redefine the limits of batting excellence. Within the plethora of records etched into the IPL’s history, the fastest centuries serve as a showcase of breathtaking skill and unparalleled dominance at the crease. As the 16th edition of the IPL beckons, let’s delve into the Top 10 Fastest Centuries in IPL History, celebrating the astonishing innings that have captivated audiences globally.

Explosive Batting in T20 Cricket

In the dynamic realm of T20 cricket, certain batsmen possess the ability to reshape the destiny of a match within a handful of overs. These power hitters unleash a relentless barrage of boundaries and sixes, leaving opposition bowlers bewildered and spectators on the edge of their seats. When a batsman achieves a century in T20 cricket, it not only demonstrates their prowess but also significantly enhances their team’s chances of victory. However, when that century is attained at a breakneck pace, it transforms into a mesmerizing spectacle.

1. Yusuf Pathan – 100 off 37 balls vs MI (2010)

Yusuf Pathan’s explosive century against Mumbai Indians in IPL 2010 revolutionized the concept of fast-paced batting in T20 cricket. The Rajasthan Royals’ all-rounder blazed his way to a century in a mere 37 balls, showcasing raw power and hitting prowess. Pathan’s heroic effort, though ending in a narrow defeat, remains etched in IPL history as one of the fastest centuries ever witnessed.

2. David Miller – 101 off 38 balls vs RCB (2013)

David Miller’s scintillating century against Royal Challengers Bangalore in IPL 2013 stands as a testament to his batting brilliance. The Kings XI Punjab batsman crafted an unbeaten 101 runs off just 38 balls, steering his team to a thrilling victory with aggressive strokeplay. Miller’s blitzkrieg innings showcased his ability to snatch the game away from the opposition in the blink of an eye.

3. Adam Gilchrist – 109 off 47 balls vs MI (2008)

Adam Gilchrist announced his IPL arrival with a breathtaking century for Deccan Chargers in the inaugural season. The legendary Australian wicketkeeper-batsman smashed an unbeaten 109 runs off 47 balls, propelling his team to a comprehensive 10-wicket victory over Mumbai Indians. Gilchrist’s masterclass remains etched in IPL history as one of the fastest centuries recorded.

Suggested Read: Young players to watch out for in IPL 2024: Young Guns Blazing

4. Cameron Green – 100 off 47 balls vs SRH

Cameron Green’s explosive century against Sunrisers Hyderabad stands out as one of the fastest in the league’s history. The Australian all-rounder showcased his power-hitting ability, scoring an unbeaten 100 runs off just 47 balls, decimating the opposition bowling attack. Green’s blistering innings left an indelible mark, solidifying his reputation as a formidable force in T20 cricket.

5. Suryakumar Yadav – 103 off 49 balls vs GT

Suryakumar Yadav’s scintillating century against Gujarat Titans is etched in the annals of IPL history as one of the quickest centuries recorded. The stylish right-hander compiled an unbeaten 103 runs off just 49 balls, demonstrating controlled aggression and guiding his team to a memorable victory.

6. Venkatesh Iyer – 104 off 51 balls vs MI

Venkatesh Iyer’s breathtaking century against Mumbai Indians ranks among the Top 10 Fastest Centuries in IPL History. The Indian all-rounder announced his arrival on the big stage with a scintillating innings, scoring a majestic 104 runs off just 51 balls. Iyer’s fearless strokeplay and impeccable placement propelled his team to a commanding position in the match.

7. Heinrich Klaasen – 104 off 51 balls vs RCB

Heinrich Klaasen’s explosive century against Royal Challengers Bangalore completes the list of the Top 10 Fastest Centuries in IPL History. The South African batsman showcased aggressive intent and power-hitting ability, smashing an impressive 104 runs off just 51 balls. Klaasen’s innings was a display of brute force and precision, leaving opposition bowlers helpless against his onslaught.

8. AB de Villiers – 129 off 52 balls vs GL (2016) / David Warner – 126 off 59 balls vs KKR (2017)

AB de Villiers and David Warner share the fifth spot on the list of Top 10 Fastest Centuries in IPL History, both achieving the milestone in 43 balls. De Villiers’ scintillating knock of 129* off 52 balls against Gujarat Lions in IPL 2016 showcased his unmatched batting prowess. Meanwhile, David Warner’s explosive innings of 126 runs off 59 balls against Kolkata Knight Riders in IPL 2017 exemplified his status as one of the most destructive batsmen in the league.

9. Shubman Gill – 129 off 60 balls vs MI

Shubman Gill’s sensational century against Mumbai Indians ranks among the Top 10 Fastest Centuries in IPL History. The young Indian batsman exhibited exemplary batting technique and timing to notch up a magnificent 129 runs off just 60 balls. Gill’s innings, characterized by elegant strokeplay and calculated aggression, earned him widespread acclaim from fans and pundits alike.

Suggested Read: Top 10 Epic Bowlers in IPL History (2019-2023)

10. Chris Gayle – 175 off 66 balls vs PW (2013)

Chris Gayle’s monumental innings against Pune Warriors in IPL 2013 remains etched in cricketing folklore as the fastest century in IPL history. The West Indian powerhouse unleashed a barrage of boundaries and sixes, amassing an astonishing 175 runs off just 66 deliveries. Gayle’s whirlwind century, featuring 17 sixes and 13 fours, propelled Royal Challengers Bangalore to a mammoth total of 263/5.


Which batsman fastest 50 in IPL history?

Yashasvi Jaiswal holds the record for the fastest 50 in IPL history. He scored his fifty off just 13 balls.

Who scored the first century in IPL?

Brendon McCullum scored the first ever century in the history of the IPL.

Who hit more 50 in IPL?

The record is held by Australia’s David Warner, who will be playing for Delhi Capitals in the upcoming season. 

Where can I find more information about IPL?

Official Website: (

Summing it Up!

The IPL has witnessed several breathtaking centuries, with batsmen pushing the boundaries of possibility and redefining the art of fast-paced batting. From Chris Gayle’s thunderous assault to AB de Villiers’ masterful strokeplay, these innings have left an indelible mark on cricketing history. As the 2024 edition of the IPL unfolds, fans eagerly anticipate witnessing more breathtaking centuries and unforgettable moments on the cricket field, including those that secure a spot among the Top 10 Fastest Centuries in IPL History. The legacy of explosive batting continues, promising cricket enthusiasts an exhilarating journey through the heart-stopping moments that define the IPL.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top